‘Cheery Red’ – Repost with comments

Sorry for the long wait! Life got in the way of blogging about it. Here’s the next repost, focussing on the the release of the short story, Cheery Red.

This was exciting to experience and write about. This moment is the one I think all authors anticipate, the release of a work and how it is embraced by others. It’s a mental holding of the breath – the work to get it out there is done – and now what? Either you slump, or there is a steady movement, or a whoosh of delight as the work streams from the distributor.

I marvel that, as an unknown author with no followers and minimal marketing, I had so many downloads for this work in those first few hours. To date, 291 copies have been downloaded.


Cheery Red
(posted Aug 19th, 2014)

This morning, after weeks of five minutes here and five minutes there, I finally finished the Smashwords formatting for my first short story ebook, Cheery Red. I uploaded it to Smashwords and dashed out the house to meet a friend, Sedrick, and do some chores. I came back to discover that 22 people had downloaded the story!

I wanted to dance a celebration dance of happiness. I wrote on Facebook, something I have seldom done in the past and suspect will do more regularly in the future:

“I am so excited! I just published ‘Cheery Red’ on Smashwords and already 22 people have downloaded it! It’s free and it’s short, but there are now 22 people I don’t know who are reading my work. I’m so inspired… I’m breathless with it! https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/468557

The “so’s” and exclamation points get across my emotional state quite nicely, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

