The Mysterious Cartoonist – Repost with comments

This satirical, short story fantasy initially downloaded more slowly than Cheery Red. Then it started picking up, and now I’m on 340 downloads. I have not yet discovered who the mysterious cartoonist is…

The Mysterious Cartoonist – (Oct 7, 2014 )

I’m giving a little twirl and some dance steps on my imaginary dance floor, celebrating the release of The Mysterious Jagg (a humorous, satirical short story, I had fits of giggles while writing it).

Publishing a short story or a book is such an exciting thing for an author. I wonder how the story will be received; I get happy when my friends congratulate me on the occasion. Facebook and e-mail becomes something I check way more often than usual. I keep an eye on Smashwords to see the downloads progressing. And I wait for the comments.

This is my favourite time of a book release, and it is gone so quickly!

Here’s the cover:

I think the cover is awesome. It is actually a modified page scanned from a diary I kept while travelling through the US during 1992/3.  The cartoon is one I copied at the time because I admired it so, with nary a thought to write down who the cartoonist was or the paper in which it was published.

When I was creating the book cover, I wanted to acknowledge the source, so I searched to discover the identity of either of them – without success. This lack of success is a reminder to keep on doing what I have done for over a decade now, which is to be meticulous about sources and references. Not only because it’s the right thing to do, not only because it is a legal requirement in many places, but because it is just and feels good to give credit where credit is due. I like being able to point others to someone’s work and say – see that? Isn’t it cool? That person is the one whose work inspired me and augmented mine.

Maybe one day someone will contact me and say, hey I did that, and I’ll be able to properly acknowledge them. If the six degrees of separation theory is true, it may be that a reader of this blog knows someone who may know the cartoonist – wouldn’t that be cool!

So, I invite you to spread the cover far and wide, to your friends and contacts. You might say: ‘Do YOU know who this cartoonist is?’

You could be the one to find him/her.

And in the meantime, you can enjoy the story! Download it for free from Smashwords:

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/481932

or check it out on Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23300826-the-mysterious-jagg

And if you enjoy it, remember to write a review!

Leave a Reply

