Close

‘Little Steps’ – repost with comments

As a publisher, I get to do a lot of editing. As a sleep-deprived mother of two young children, I am very grateful for proofreading tools like spell check. And as I reread and repost my Tumblr posts, I am honestly amazed at how far I have come since I started, as well as how things progressed from what I hoped for to what actually happened. What did actually happen from the below? Did I join Lightening Source? What happened to the website? Do I continue to use food metaphors? Ha ha, you’ll have to keep reading to find out!

Little Steps (posted Aug 14th, 2014)

I’m at the beginning of a long tale. You know the one – unknown person (in my case, author and publisher), after thirty years of hard slog, becomes an overnight success.

The first fifteen years – that’s how old my publishing company is – have seen me do a lot of stuff, flitting from one thing to the next. That is the recipe for an interesting and vivid life, with amazing memories. I’m no longer interested in recipes. It’s a lovely metaphor and all, I’m just hungry for something else. Today I’m interested in alchemy – using the ingredients I’ve already prepared. I’ve prepared – now what do I make? To whom do I offer it? Things taste better when you share, and when you share it with someone who wants it.

I’m fifteen years in, and there’s awesome not-so-new technology that I can use to share my works with people who may enjoy them. I’m focusing on publishing right now and for the last few weeks have been wrestling with the options available to me in print-on-demand and e-book distribution.

Today I contacted Lightening Source for POD overseas. I have been working on my new website – perhaps you reached this blog from there. I have given my input into the Hatchett vs Amazon debate (in short: let there be competition!) and every so often I stop to add information to the “AmaZizi: The Dlamini of Southern Africa”  second edition book. I need to visit Goodreads and start following people as well as review more books.

Little steps.

You who read this, however briefly, are part of my story and I am part of yours. I don’t know how you got here, and I’m grateful. Perhaps we can inspire each other to take those little steps – some tedious, some exciting – towards putting the best of ourselves out there to nourish others and be nourished in return.

Leave a Reply

Back to top
